Tags

, , , ,

“Some women wait for themselves around the next corner and call the empty spot peace but the opposite of living is only not living and the stars do not care.”
― Audre Lorde

Last summer I decided I would stop being the butch woman around the next corner and change some things in my life. The moment is now half a year behind me. I quit my job on the 1st of January and yesterday I travelled on the train to Vienna, Austria to stay for some time and live and work in the LGBTQ community. Walking into the bar of the Rosa Lilla Villa, the lesbian/gay/ trans community center, on a monday evening and seeing visible lesbians, gays sitting around, eating,

image

talking, laughing, made me feel incredibly happy and at home. Not that it’s all peace and quiet here, I’m not naive, it’s a radical, feminist, concensus based organisation, with lots of struggles and differences. But it’s better then acting like there is no difference at all between people, the ‘ but we are all humans’ attitude, in the meantime erasing and ignoring the struggle of so many people.

“It is learning how to stand alone, unpopular and sometimes reviled, and how to make common cause with those other identified as outside the structures, in order to define and seek a world in which we can all flourish. It is learning how to take our differences and make the strengths. For the master’s tools will never dismantle the master’s house.”
― Audre Lorde

 

