Tags

, , , ,

Meg Allen, a queer photographer from San Francisco, has made over 200 photo’s of butch women. I posted some of her photographs here before. In an interview with She Wired, she explains why she started with this photo collection. I hope she will get the opportunity to make an exhibition one day, one that travels the world and visits my country too 🙂 Butch is such an unknown concept in Holland and as we all know, it’s quite hard to explain to outsiders what Butch means or why we individually choose to identify as butch. I would love to take my friends there and show them that I am not an exception, but part of a big mondial community of women, who don’t fit in the binary gender system and who learned to be proud of what they are, just as I did.

image image image image image image image image image image

