Tags

, , , , ,

I have this little board on Pintrest called Feminism. I’m not very active on Pintrest, but I like to collect pictures from the internet there and share them with others. A while back I made a photo of a cutout I have hanging on my blackboard and pinned it on Pintrest. It’s a bit torn up and wrinkled, but it’s such a powerful picture of civil rights / women’s movement activist Fannie Lou Hamer with her famous quote underneath: nobody’s free until everybody’s free. Too my surprise it has been repinned by others for over 20 times on Pintrest. All these glossy pictures on the internet and people like a black-and-white torn up magazine cutout. I guess her message is still appealing to many, even after 50 years…

nobody is free until everybody is free

 

 “I guess if I’d had any sense, I’d have been a little scared – but what was the point of being scared? The only thing they [white people] could do was kill me, and it seemed they’d been trying to do that a little bit at a time since I could remember.” 

